After a well fought round of Regional Finals across the UK and Ireland, we are pleased to announce the Grand Finalists for 2024 are:

Ireland: Chloe Callanan, The National Botanic Gardens of Ireland, Glasnevin, Dublin

Scotland: James Douglass, SRUC and the Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh

Northern: Lucy Whitehead, The Auckland Project, Bishop Auckland, The Durham Dales

North-West North Wales: Frank Cooke, Myerscough College, Preston

Eastern: Jonathan Zerr, Helmingham Hall, and Benton End House & Gardens, Suffolk

West-Midlands South Wales: Lawrence Weston, RHS Rosemoor, Torrington

South-East: Al Coffey, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew

South-West: Sam Hickmott, National Trust Lytes Cary Manor and Tintinhull Garden, Somerset

We are now on the count down now to the Grand Final which will be held on Thursday 9th May at Hestercombe House and Gardens Taunton, Somerset. 

We wish all our finalists the best of luck for the final round!

“The calibre of this year’s entrants has been so high, I am looking forward to what I know will be an exciting battle for the winning place at the Grand Final”

Victoria George, National Organiser

To find out more about the competition and how to take part next year, visit the Young Horticulturist of the Year page at  

If you are interested in sponsoring the 2025 competition, please contact the Chartered Institute of Horticulture – Email: