

Annual General Meeting Chartered Institute of Horticulture Wednesday 1st May 2024, 18.00hrs

Online, via Zoom

Minutes

NO.	ITEM
01	Welcome to the AGM – President David Richardson
	David Richardson CHort FCIHort, President, welcomed the assembled Members, Fellows, Chartered Horticulturists, Associates, and guests to the Chartered Institute's Annual General Meeting.
	The President expressed thanks to the members of the Institute's Management Board, committees and Council of Trustees for their ongoing support.
	Notice of this meeting was given in accordance with the Institute's bye-laws, published on the website and distributed to all corporate members via email.
02	Apologies for Absence – Jason Daff
	 Apologies have been received from members and supplied to the President. Available from the secretariat if required.
03	To approve the Minutes of the 2023 AGM – Jason Daff
	 The 2023 Annual General Meeting was held at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, Southampton, SO16 3NG and online, via Zoom on Friday 12th May 2023.
	Minutes were e-mailed to corporate members and posted on the website ahead of the meeting.
	 There were no amendments to the minutes of the 2023 AGM so it was put to the meeting for approval
	 Proposed- Victoria George MCIHort
	 Seconded- Joseph Croke CHort FCIHort Votes against- none
	 Vote- carried
04	To receive the Annual Report for 2023 – Jason Daff
	The Annual Report has been distributed via e-mail to the membership and has been lodged on the website. The Honorary Secretary thanked the various contributors to the report.
	 There were no amendments to the 2023 Annual Report so it was put to the meeting for receipt Proposed- Paul Mann MCIHort Seconded- Susan Nicholas FCIHort

	 Votos against nono
	 Votes against- none Vote- carried
05	To consider any regulation amendments There were no amendments to consider.
06	To receive the Audited Accounts to 31 st December 2023 – Gabriel Roe
	Gabriel Roe, Honorary Treasurer, provided an overview of the accounts for the year ending 31 st December 2023. The Institute remains financially stable, despite the increase in operating costs and the effects of inflation.
	A summary of the accounts was included in the Annual Report - a full audited copy was also e-mailed to all corporate members and lodged on the website.
	 There were no comments on the 2023 Annual Accounts, they were put to the meeting for receipt. Proposed- Gabriel Roe FCIHort Seconded – Richard Barley MBE CHort MCIHort Votes against- none Vote- carried
07	To note subscription rates for 2025 – Gabriel Roe
	Council proposes a modest increase to the subscription fees for 2025, in line with inflation. Subscription rates for 2025 are therefore as below:
	Fellow £163 Member £130 Associate £102 Student Member £0 Retired Fellow/Member/Associate £75
	Career Builder £53 Chartered supplement to apply to all categories £116
08	To Elect New Honorary Officers & Council for 2024/25- Jason Daff
	In accordance with the bye-laws the following nominations were received for vacancies for honorary officers and members of Council: The vote was taken <i>en bloc</i> .
	 For the office of President, David Richardson CHort FCIHort seeks election for a further 1- year term
	 Council Members and Trustees: Sue Jeffries MCIHort, Social & Therapeutic Horticulture Representative Joseph Croke CHort MCIHort, Ireland Branch Representative James Simpson, Commercial Representative Andrew Cotterill CHort MCIHort, South East Branch Representative
	 Proposed- John Cappalonga MCIHort Seconded- Helen Sessions CHort MCIHort Votes against- none Vote- Carried

The Honorary Secretary thanked Phillip Pearson FCIHort who's term on Council had now concluded.
ALL OTHER ELECTED COUNCIL MEMBERS CONTINUE TO SERVE THE REMAINDER OF THEIR TERM
To appoint Independent Financial Examiner for the year 2024 – Jason Daff
Management Board proposed that we continue to invoke the services of our existing independent financial examiner; Helen Furlong FCCA of McLintocks (NW) Limited, Birkenhead, Merseyside.
 Proposed- Gabriel Roe FCIHort Seconded- Richard Barley MBE CHort MCIHort Votes against- none Vote- carried
To consider any other business – Jason Daff
 Any other business must have been submitted to the Honorary Secretary 56 days prior to the meeting as per the Institute's bye-laws. No other business was received.
New Chartered Horticulturists
 Romain Bardin CHort MCIHort Richard Barley MBE CHort MCIHort Jason Daff CHort MCIHort
Fellowships as approved by Council.
 Chris Collins FCIHort Stephen McCallum CHort FCIHort Michael McQuade FCIHort Sue Wood FCIHort
Awards:
Aberconway Award The Aberconway Award for best undergraduate dissertation was presented to Daniel Jones from Writtle University College.
President's Award The President's award for 2024 was awarded to Michael Fitt OBE FCIHort .
Close of AGM – Jason Daff JD announced the close of AGM business
_