

Annual General Meeting Chartered Institute of Horticulture Friday 12th May 2023, 18.00hrs

And online via Zoom

Minutes

NO.	ITEM
01	Welcome to the AGM – President Susan Nicholas
	Susan Nicholas FCIHort, President, welcomed the assembled members, Fellows, Chartered Horticulturists, associates, and guests to the Chartered Institute's Annual General Meeting.
	The AGM was being held in Southampton following a study tour or horticultural businesses in the region.
	The President welcomed members joining virtually and expressed thanks to the members of the Institute's Management Board, committees and Council of Trustees for their ongoing support.
	Notice of this meeting was given in accordance with the Institute's bye-laws, published on the website and distributed to all corporate members via email.
02	Apologies for Absence – Jason Daff
	 Apologies have been received from members and supplied to the President. Available from the secretariat if required.
03	To approve the Minutes of 2022 AGM – Jason Daff
	 The 2022 Annual General Meeting was held in Seminar Room 1, Yorkshire Events Centre, Great Yorkshire Showground and Online, via Zoom on Saturday 23rd April 2022.
	Minutes were e-mailed to corporate members and posted on the website ahead of the meeting.
	 There were no amendments to the minutes of the 2022 AGM so it was put to the meeting for approval
	 Proposed- Jason Daff MCIHort Seconded- Susan Nicholas FCIHort Votes against- none Vote- carried
04	To receive the Annual Report 2021 – Jason Daff
	The Annual Report has been distributed via e-mail to the membership and has been lodged on the website. The Honorary Secretary thanked the various contributors to the report.
	There were no amendments to the 2022 Annual Report so it was put to the meeting for receipt

 Proposed- Richard Barley MCIHort Seconded- Jason Daff MCIHort Votes against- none Vote- carried 05 To consider any regulation amendments There were no amendments to consider. To receive the Audited Accounts to 31st December 2022 – Gabriel Roe 06 Gabriel Roe, Honorary Treasurer, provided an overview of the accounts for the year ending 31st December 2022. Despite considerable financial headwind the Institute remains financially stable. An increase in subscription fees will help to mitigate the increases in incurred costs. A summary of the accounts was included in the Annual Report - a full audited copy was also e-mailed to all corporate members and lodged on the website. There were no comments on the 2022 Annual Accounts, they were put to the meeting for receipt. o Proposed- Gabriel Roe FCIHort Seconded – Helen Sessions CHort, MCIHort Votes against- none Vote- carried 07 To note subscription rates for 2024 - Gabriel Roe Council proposes a modest increase to the subscription fees for 2024, in line with inflation. Subscription rates for 2024 are therefore as below: Fellow £160 Member £128 Associate £100 Student Member £0 Retired Fellow/Member/Associate £73 Career Builder £50 Chartered supplement to apply to all categories £114 80 To Elect New Honorary Officers & Council for 2023/24- Susan Nicholas In accordance with the bye-laws the following nominations were received for vacancies for honorary officers and members of Council: The vote was taken en bloc. For the office of President Elect, **Richard Barley MCIHort**. For the office of Honorary Secretary, Jason Daff MCIHort seeks election for a further term. **Council Members and Trustees:** • Claire Mitchell ACIHort, Early-career Horticulturist Representative Sue Crosby MCIHort, Social & Therapeutic Horticulture Representative James Wagstaffe MCIHort, Chair of Education Committee • George Gilchrist FCIHort, Scotland Branch Representative John Cappalonga MClHort, Eastern Branch Representative Angela Evans FCIHort, South East Branch Representative

Proposed- David Richardson CHort FCIHort Seconded- Helen Sessions CHort MCIHort Votes against- none Vote- Carried ALL OTHER ELECTED COUNCIL MEMBERS CONTINUE TO SERVE THE REMAINDER OF THEIR TERM To appoint Independent Financial Examiner for the year 2024 – Jason Daff 09 Management Board proposed that we continue to invoke the services of our existing independent financial examiner; Helen Furlong FCCA of McLintocks (NW) Limited, Birkenhead, Merseyside. Proposed-Gabriel Roe FCIHort Seconded- John Cappalonga MCIHort Votes against- none Vote- carried 10 To consider any other business – Jason Daff Any other business must have been submitted to the Honorary Secretary 56 days prior to the meeting as per the Institute's bye-laws. No other business was received. 11 Awards: President's Award The President's award for 2023 was awarded to Chris Bird FCIHort. **Chartered Horticulturists** Gareth Austin CHort MCIHort Joe Howarth CHort MCIHort Colm O'Callaghan CHort MCIHort Colin Skelly CHort MCIHort Tom Wood CHort MCIHort Fellowships as approved by Council. Stephen Flynn FCIHort 12 **Presidential Handover** Outgoing President Susan Nicholas thanked members for their support during her term before handing the Presidential Chain of Office to Incoming President David Richardson CHort FCIHort. Close of AGM - Jason Daff JD announced the close of AGM business